About the Journal

Welcome to the Alberta Law Review

The Alberta Law Review (ALR) is a student-run publication whose primary purpose is to enhance discourse on Canadian legal issues. Founded in 1955, the ALR is published by the Alberta Law Review Society, an organization consisting of law students at the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary. Built upon the hard work of student editors at both law faculties, the ALR is published every quarter and has roughly 1,000 pages per volume.  

Every year, the ALR publishes a special issue containing cutting-edge legal scholarship in a particular area. Previous special issues have explored topics ranging from administrative law to the future of law school. The ALR also publishes an annual Energy Law Edition, whose sole focus is on energy law. The two remaining issues are generalist publications containing scholarship that explores all areas of the law. 

The ALR is grateful to the Law Society of Alberta, the Canadian Energy Law Foundation, the Faculties of Law at the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary, and to its patrons and advertisers for their ongoing encouragement, support, and assistance.

Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

Current Editors

Below is the current Editorial Committee of the Alberta Law Review.

Honourary Editors

Hon. W. A. Stevenson, O.C.

Former Justice of the
Supreme Court of Canada
(1934 - 2021)

W. F. Bowker, O.C., Q.C.

Professor Emeritus
University of Alberta
(1910 - 1999)

D. T. Anderson, Q.C.

Professor, Faculty of Law
University of Manitoba

B. Billingsley

Dean of Law
University of Alberta

Hon. J. Côté

Former Justice of the
Alberta Court of Appeal


I. Holloway, Q.C.

Dean of Law
University of Calgary

Practitioner Consultant

Glenn Solomon, Q.C.
Jensen Shawa Solomon Duguid Hawkes LLP
Calgary, Alberta

Editorial Committee 2020- 2021

(University of Alberta)


Sarah Lazin and Alexandra Warkentin (outgoing)

Case Littlewood and Hannah Schmakeit (incoming)

Editorial Committee

Raunaq Arora
Elisa Carbonaro
Amy Durand
Justine Fay

Rielle Gagnon
Thomas Kannanayakal
Robert Klein
Karyna Omelchenko

Jonas Patron
Prabhjot Punnia
Samuel Teunissen
Darren Wagner


Bonita Arbeau (outgoing)
Rachel Day (incoming)

Faculty Advisors

Eric Adams
Anna Lund
Steven Penney
Christopher Sprysak

Administrator &
Technical Editor

Lorie Huising


Editorial Committee 2020 - 2021

(University of Calgary)

Associate Co-Editors-in-Chief

Spencer Brown and Anna White (outgoing)

Selwynne Hawkins and Ashley Weleschuk (incoming)

Editorial Board

Kendra Barlow
Neil Burnside
Darryl Carmichael
Erin Colwell
Karly Dutcyvich
Nick Ettinger
Mitchell Folk
Amelia Harman
Sydney Haubrich
Selwynne Hawkins
Viviana Heather
Florence Hogg
Sarah Howard
Tom Kusch
Kyla Kirker
Dana Poscente
Will Sardo
Benjamin Sasges
RJ Sohal
Michaela Summers
Wei Wang
Ashley Weleschuk

Faculty Advisor

Fenner Stewart