Editorial Policies

Section Policies


Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.



This journal utilizes the LOCKSS system to create a distributed archiving system among participating libraries and permits those libraries to create permanent archives of the journal for purposes of preservation and restoration. More...


Current Editors

Below is the current Editorial Committee of the Alberta Law Review.

Honourary Editors

Hon. W. A. Stevenson, O.C.

Former Justice of the
Supreme Court of Canada

Dr. W. F. Bowker, O.C., Q.C.

Professor Emeritus
University of Alberta
(1910 - 1999)

D. T. Anderson, Q.C.

Professor, Faculty of Law
University of Manitoba

Dr. P. D. Paton

Dean of Law
University of Alberta

Hon. A. A. McLellan, P.C.

Distinguished Scholar in Residence, University of Alberta

Ian Holloway, Q.C.

Dean of Law
University of Calgary

Practitioner Consultant

Glenn Solomon, Q.C.
Jensen Shawa Solomon Duguid Hawkes LLP
Calgary, Alberta

Editorial Committee 2018 - 2019

(University of Alberta)


Landon Haynes and Lydia Roseman

Editorial Committee

Jordan Achtymichuk
Julia Amelio
Andrew Bentz
Erin Bower
Raymond Chen
Maddison Croden
Nate Gartke
Elisa Genuis
Conrad Gibbs
Daniel Howitt

Taylor Kemp
Adam Kotlowitz
Moira Lavoie
Emily Lennox
Alexandra Mackenzie
Jordon Magico
Taylor Maxston
Alec Mcilwraith-Black
Gina Murray
Elizabeth Northrup

Paul Romaniuk
Alissa Ricioppo
Brendan Sigalet
Heather Stock
Leah Strand
Partick Schembri
Taylor Thiesen
Ben Throndson
Monica Tran
James Work


Gil Miciak

Faculty Advisors

Eric Adams
Tamara Buckwold
Steven Penney
Christopher Sprysak

Administrator &
Technical Editor

Lorie Huising


Editorial Committee 2018 - 2019

(University of Calgary)

Associate Co-Editors-in-Chief

Chelsea Mae Daku and Julie Ward

Editorial Board

Colleen Bonnyman
Scott Carriere
Savanna Dawn Havinga

Kyle Havart-Crans
David Hillier
Abbey Kind
Jimmy Murphy

Brittany Shales
Olivia Salkeld
Sydney Thomson
Adam Williams


Faculty Advisor

Fenner Stewart


Previous Editors

Below is the list of former members of the Editorial Committee of the Alberta Law Review. We are in the process of completing the list. We are incredibly proud of the distinguished alumni that have been associated with the Review over the years.

Volume 55

Volume 54

Volume 53

Volume 52

Volume 51

Volume 50